mother and child: because i remember the blink of an eye when you breathed through my body

What it’s like to watch.  When I think of Mary, Madonna Mother of Jesus, my heart pounds.  Watching is unimaginably difficult, or the problem is, it is imaginably difficult.  Sons can be birds taken broken up to the mountain. 

Back a while ago, my son gave me this song.  We’ve never spoken about it, and honestly, he cannot really know what it is like from my side.  But he suspects, as does Samuel Beam who wrote this.

Because I remember the blink of an eye when you breathed through my body.

Upward Over The Mountain

Mother don’t worry, I killed the last snake that lived in the creek bed

Mother don’t worry, I’ve got some money I saved for the weekend

Mother remember being so stern with that girl who was with me

Mother remember the blink of an eye when I breathed through your body

 

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten

Sons are like birds flying upwards over the mountain

 

Mother I made it up from the bruise on the floor of this prison

Mother I lost it all of the fear of the Lord I was given

Mother forget me now that the creek drank the cradle you sang to

Mother forgive me I sold your car for the shoes that I gave you

 

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten

Sons can be birds taken broken up to the mountain

 

Mother don’t worry I’ve got a coat and some friends on the corner

Mother don’t worry she’s got a garden we’re it planting together

Mother remember the night that the dog had her pups in the pantry

Blood on the floor and the fleas in their paws

And you cried ’til the morning

 

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten

Sons are like birds flying always over the mountain

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.